Posted by: Christian Accountant | October 22, 2010

The Hardest Thing I Ever Did Set Me Free!

Anyone that is a parent, will know what it is to suffer when you child suffers. What you may not know, is the feeling of being overtaken, with all the problems that occur when raising a teenager. I was completely overwhelmed when I took on my daughter’s problems as my own. This all started when I was an idiot, and pushed God away, even though He had always been in my life.

I am not ready to go into all the details of what our daughter put us through. That will be another article. Suffice it to say they were not the normal problems, and they were so extensive, my health began to deteriorate. You see, I wasn’t letting God be in control. I was trying to take it all on my own, and tried to deal with it hour by hour. I ended up on medical leave dealing with unbelievable list of medical, emotional and mental issues as a result of me trying to stay in control.

Thank God, He decided to teach me a lesson. He knew that if He was going to deal with my daughter, I had to let go of her. As her mother and being an assertive, controlling person, that wasn’t an option for me. Or so I thought. God knew better than I. So God brought me to the point where I turned to Him. Thankfully, I listened, although I really don’t think there was an option. God turned me upside down in one weekend. He showed me the way to His word. When I let him take control, the peace that I felt was astounding. The joy I found in God let me to start this blog. I felt God would give me the words to write to touch others as He had touched my life.

God never gives us too much to handle in our lives. He wants us to trust Him to guide us through the good and the bad. God prepared me for the hardest thing I ever had to do in my entire life. God was with me in the beginning, in the middle and at the end of the hardest day of my life. I felt as if I had absolutely no choice but to kick my daughter out when she turned 18. Without God with me, I would have never made it through. I felt as if part of me was torn away, so I turned to the Lord and gave her to Him. She was already His since I had dedicated her to the Lord when she was a baby. What I had to actually do, was give her to Him again. Only then had I truly let go, so God could take over.

The magnitude of what God did for me in lifting the weight of the world off my shoulders was AWESOME. He literally healed me from depression and despair. He gave me hope, peace and joy in my life and heart. I cannot thank Him enough for Him loving me enough to teach me a lesson. God was with me during the hardest day of my life and He set me free!! Thank you God!!!

Trust in God to come into your life and make you whole. God loves you. Even when you are in your darkest hour, you can turn to God and give your life to Him. He will set you free!!!!

Responses

  1. Great post! I very much like to be in control too, but am learning that some things cannot be accomplished until we step aside and let God take the reins. Stephen and I are learning this lesson now during the process of support raising for our missions work. Ultimately God is in control and He and ONLY He will make it happen. Keep up the great writing!!!

    • Thanks! The one thing that helps me is to say it out loud, “God is in control”. I say it repeatedly through out the day. It is amazing how this helps me. Try it. Love you guys!


Categories

