Posted by: Christian Accountant | October 11, 2010

Give Yourselves to God

God tells us in his word, to give ourselves to him, and to be closer to him, and He promises he will be closer to us if we do. He wants us to choose him over the world and be loyal to him.  

James 4:7-8: (KJV) “Submit yourselves therefore to God. Resist the devil, and he will flee from you. Draw nigh to God, and he will draw nigh to you. Cleanse your hands, ye sinners; and purify your hearts, ye double minded.” (NLT) So humble yourselves before God. Resist the devil, and he will flee from you. Come close to God, and God will come close to you. Wash your hands, you sinners; purify your hearts, for your loyalty is divided between God and the world.”       

      In Psalm 37:5 (NLT), God tells us to commit 100% of ourselves to him. “Commit everything you do to the Lord. Trust him, and he will help you.”  God promises us he will help us when we commit all to him.

In Joshua 24:14-15, the bible tells us, “So honor the Lord and serve him wholeheartedly…But as for me and my family, we will serve the Lord.” The Webster dictionary defines wholeheartedly as, ” marked by complete earnest commitment : free from all reserve or hesitation”. You shouldn’t be holding anything back from God. There should not be any hesitation with your willingness to give ALL of yourself to God.

Live for God today, in all you do and he will be closer to you and help you.

Responses

  1. What a great post! I’m so excited about what God is doing in your life! Did you get my email?

    • Thanks Brandy for sharing my excitement! I am thrilled at what I can honestly say is that God is in Control. Watch for my email back! Take Care!

  2. thanks for sharing this. Commit all to Him..

    This made me think of the verse we all know, Love the Lord your God with all of your mind, heart, and soul.

    When I looked at the word “love”, it is the God kind of love, self-giving, self-sacrificial love. So when I re-read this verse, I read it as: Give unto the Lord your God all of your mind, your heart and your soul.

    Surrender.. die to self. It is no longer I who live but Christ Jesus who lives in me.

    Crucify the flesh with it’s passions and desires.

    Let this mind be in you that is also in Christ Jesus.. etc. 🙂

    Death to self, risen in Christ. Praise God! 🙂 🙂 🙂 I wrote about this on my blog recently.. If you get a sec, check it out. It may be a page back or 2.. I think it’s called Love God with your Mind…or Renewed Mind. Blessings beloved. Keep on keepin’ on! 🙂

    joseph


Categories

